My son is dating, His Higglety Pigglety Pop! Moment.

There is this amazing book, Higglety Pigglety Pop!Or There Must Be More to Life, by a very well known, award winning  and loved children’s author, Image:  about a dog who wanted to be an actress and was made to go on a “life experience” journey in order to join this acting company.,http://www.amazon.com/Higglety-Pigglety-Pop-There-Must/dp/006028479X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1368499846&sr=1-1&keywords=higgly+piggly+pop

I have had many a “Higglety Pigglety Pop! moments. One that has come in handy recently is my experience with “first loves”. When I was 16, I fell in love for the first–or was it the second? No, maybe the third time? Maybe it was the fifth or sixth? Heck, I don’t remember. It  was 18 years ago. But when I was 16, I had this boyfriend who became my whole universe. I went from straight A’s to a more eclectic collage of grades, He became all I cared about. He became my only focus. I put a lot of energy and effort into something that was not going to last; think building a snow man when the temperature is predicted to rise 25 degrees the next day. ANYWAY… When it ended my world came to this bizarre halt.  I felt I was going to die, wilt away and not exist. In other words, my poor heart was broken. However, I had support in the form of the wisest words that would be spoken to me by a friend’s mother. “You will have many ‘first loves’. So breath, stop crying and eat some Ben and Jerry’s”. Like any piece of advice, not actually personally sought, this was not well received  I was in the middle of a heart break. HELLO! No one in the world ever experienced this tragic life event. Well… fast forward 18 years to my very weary, wise and wonderful 30’s. Yes Miss Sue,you were right. I have indeed had many ‘first’ loves. Sadly these firsts never lasted… UNTIL I came to my “adult relationship” after 16 years of marriage to the same man… I feel a little qualified to handle my son’s newest angst. His first love and his first break up. As with any great historical event, it was worth repeating. I told my very heart broken boy the same thing Miss Sue told me. ” You will have many first loves, now cheer up and eat strawberry Ice cream. He looked at me cross eyed and told me I had no idea what he was going through… That, no one did. Well part of that was true. I never was a boy but I was still a teenager in love. He cried, he complained  and he ate strawberry ice cream.

I read “Jacob”  Higglety Pigglety Pop!: Or There Must Be More to Life when he was six years old. He loved it and to this day he will say, “Mom, that was a “,Higglety Pigglety Pop! moment. Yesterday, when he was listening to his MP3 player and texting while also playing Saints Row, he looked up at me when I walked into his game room and he said, mom, I had a higglety Pigglety Pop! moment when “Feather” broke up with me. YES, her name is really Feather. I digress. ‘Jacob’ was over this girl… it took a few days and a pint of ice cream but he was ready to move on to his next “first love”.

The teen years are upon me!

!

About Renaissance mom

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, "missus", friend and foe. That sums up who I am. I am a writer, advocate, film maker, film fixer, lover of all things pretty, and accept all things odd and wonderful this explains what I am. I am here, there and everywhere in between. this sums up where I am. I live as I mean to go on. this sums up how I am. I am who I am this explains why I am.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My son is dating, His Higglety Pigglety Pop! Moment.

  1. BC Lewis says:

    Just as writers like their favorite, special pens, perhaps he’d like a favorite, special spoon–cuz there will be more brokenhearted moments along the way….

Leave a Reply

